Bird Lives Again! - New Project Orchestra

More than 100 years have passed since Kansas City gave birth to Charlie Parker: it was August 29th, 1920.

Parker was the leading character and forerunner of one of the most important and influential revolutions that rocked the Jazz world: Bebop. Whereas Bird was the star,  Dizzy Gillespie was the great communicator and promoter and Thelonious Monk the genius architect: an unrepeatable triumvirate. Up to nowadays they are still considered the bards and prophets of the bop language, with whom generations of musicians confront. 

In 2020 Parker would have been 100, a century of Bird: but, to follow in the damned artist's tradition, almost every centennial celebration was cancelled due to the pandemic that forced humanity to pause every possible running activity.

New Project Orchestra couldn't miss those celebrations and had set up a vast special program for Charlie Parker and his musical universe, coordinated and lead by arranger and guitarist Roberto Spadoni, with whom they had already crafted various orchestral works in the previous decade: Spadoni had shaped almost every arrangement, and had also come up with two original compositions in Parker's style (Fuga di notizie and Times have changed). The repertoire, the revisited bebop language, the sound of Bird as gravitational still points around which to develop the orchestral loom and the soloist's contributions, a heartfelt and must tribute to this great Musician. Obviously, everything stood still in March 2020...

Eventually now, back on track, the orchestra reunited and the whole Bird lives again! project has been recorded at the Collettivo Mood studio, brand new recording space in Bolzano that has opened its doors right on this work. 

Segment, Mouse the mooche, Ornitology, Scrapple from the apple, Au privave, My little suede shoes, Confirmation, here are a few of the included track, masterpieces that warm every jazz lovers's heart. In the New Project Orchestra lineup - beside long-time soloists Paolo Trettel, Stefano Menato, Fiorenzo Zeni (also author of three of the arrangements), Gigi Grata, Stefano Colpi - three special guests have been welcomed: Francesco Fratini trumpet, Achille Succi alto sax and clarinet, Mauro Beggio on the drums.

The concert is enriched by the narrating voice of Roberto Spadoni, always captivating and enthralling the audience sharing stories and trivia on the personal, historical, artistic and social context during which Charlie Parker's shooting star enlightened the world of Jazz and of Music of the Twentieth Century. BIRD LIVES AGAIN!

Marziani, Napolitano e Del pezzo, Jazz from Naples

Cose Sonore (Alman Music) presents the first project from the trio of Francesco Marziani (piano), Antonio Napolitano (double-bass) and Massimo Del Pezzo (drum). The three Neapolitan musicians, life- and music companions since their early youth, showcase a language that, even if rooted in the afro-american tradition, constantly seeks for contamination through the musical and cultural background of the Parthenopean territory. To Naples itself and to the figure of Troisi in specific the trio dedicates this first album, born from the shared urgency of giving artistic shape to a stream of ideas developed through the years. An album that wishes to be the forerunner of a project that puts sound and spontaneous expression in the first place, marked by improvisation and the choice of relying on analog tape recording technique. Eight tracks among which, alongside great compositions by Miles Davis, Stevie Wonder, Fats Waller and others great figures, three original Marziani numbers find place: "Little Child", "Young Pretty Lady" and, of course, "Troisi".

ROARING CHRISTMAS by Tiger Dixie Band & Greta Marcolongo

ROARING CHRISTMAS - Available on CD or in all digital store.

The Tiger Dixie Band lead us into the year's most awaited night, with the jolly energy of primeval jazz and the grace of the New Orleans sound, through an artistic project that fully captures the Christmas spirit. Properly dedicated to the "Roarin' Age" and graced by the featuring of vocalist Greta Marcolongo, the album features a blend between some of the most evoking classics of the traditional Christmas repertoire -rearranged for this project- with a few less-known "rare gems" uncovered in ancient recordings. The sixteen tracks of the playlist also showcase original tunes composed by the band members, starting off with the first track "Singin' by the Christmas tree".
The Tiger Dixie Band is particularly involved in rediscovering jazz of the so-called Roarin' Age, with an original and up-to-date approach. Typical nuances of the New Orleans and Chicago style, of Charleston and Ragtime, are philologically proposed both in style and spirit (also thanks to the use of original instruments of the time), but the sound anyway flows through the modern musical experiences of the single Band members, which melt together in execution, arrangement and improvisation, avoiding by this a mere "revival" effect and celebrating viceversa the statement that this musical genre hasn't aged, just like Swing or Bebop.
The album features Paolo Trettel (trumpet), Stefano Menato (clarinet), Fiorenzo Zeni (tenor saxophone), Luigi Grata (trombone), Andrea Boschetti (banjo, guitars and ukulele), Stefano Caniato (piano), Giorgio Beberi (bass saxophone), Daniele Patton (drums). With special guest vocalist Greta Marcolongo.

1) Singin’ by the Christmas Tree di S. Caniato
2) White Christmas di I. Berlin
3) Santa Claus Is Coming to Town di F. Coots
4) Winter Wonderland di F. Bernard
5) Rudolph’s Tumble di F. Zeni
6) The Happiest Christmas Tree di C. Lynn
7) Tu Scendi dalle Stelle / Sleigh Sliding di S. Caniato
8) Snowy Rag di S. Caniato
9) Amazing Grace di L. Grata
10) The First Noel di S. Caniato
11) Jingle Bells di G. Beberi
12) Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer di J. Marks
13) 25/12 (O Tannenbaum) di L. Grata
14) Dixie Christmas di F. Zeni
15) Frosty the Snowman di S. Nelson
16) Stille Nacht (Silent Night) di D. Bonvecchio



LILY DIOR - No More Blues

NO MORE BLUES - Available from May the 28 the new album by LILY DIOR

Notoriously one of the most extraordinary vocalists coming from Australia, with countless performances held everywhere from New York to New Zealand, from Japan to Singapore, from London to Hong Kong, Lily Dior releases her first album made entirely in Italy.

For the occasion, the eclectic jazz, soul, funk interpreter revisits some of the greatest international jazz standards chosen from the repertoires of Gershwin, Hamilton, Porter, Marks, Garner, up to Jobim with the track "Chega de Saudade" named "No More Blues" by Dizzy Gillespie which inspired the title of the album.

The project was made possible thanks to Marco Marzola and his quartet. MM the band leader and double bass player is an Italian native speaker, permanently based in London. He acted as a bridge between the singer and Italy, the “ Bel Paese “

The MMQ line Up: Marco Marzola on bass with Michele Vignali on saxophone, Nico Menci on piano, Lele Barbieri on drums. Recorded for the Cose Sonore / Alman Music label last year at the "Ritmo & Blue Studio" in Brescia by Stefano Castagna and mixed by Alberto Mantovani at the "ExCantine Studio" in Imola (BO), the album will be officially presented again in Italy on June 24th on the occasion of the 34th edition of the Deltablues Festival in Rovigo.






    Mostra 1 di 4 di 32 news totali.   
  • 1
  •  2 3